Press Releases

Hero image
For immediate release

Gannett Honors Its 2006 Top Employees

Gannett honored its 2006 companywide awards winners at a March 13 ceremony at Gannett/USA TODAY headquarters in McLean, Va.

This year, the company introduced a new award, Innovator of the Year, which recognizes a Gannett employee who was responsible for sponsoring or leading major innovation initiatives at his/her local unit.

Award winners announced at the ceremony and the finalists are:

MANAGER OF THE YEAR – Sam Rosenwasser, president and general manager of WTSP-TV at Tampa-St. Petersburg, Fla. Finalists: Arnold Garson, vice president/Pacific Newspaper Group, and president and publisher, Argus Leader at Sioux Falls, S.D.; Ted Power, vice president/Sun Coast Newspaper Group, and president and publisher, The Daily Advertiser at Lafayette and the Daily World at Opelousas, La.; and Tim Whitehouse, managing director, Newsquest Specialist Media..

INNOVATOR OF THE YEAR – Kevin Poortinga, vice president of product development at The Indianapolis Star. Finalists: Nicole Carroll, managing editor, The Arizona Republic at Phoenix; and Steve Silberman, executive editor, The Desert Sun at Palm Springs, Calif.

CHAIRMAN’S SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – Also presented this year was a Chairman’s Special Achievement Award to Jennifer Carroll, vice president/new media content, Newspaper Division, and Michael Maness, vice president/strategic planning, Newspaper Division, for their work in designing and implementing the company’s new Information Center initiative.

“This culture-changing, company-transforming concept needed a structure, a process, communications and a lot of travel, hand-holding, educating and cheerleading to make happen. And they did it,” Dubow says.

SALES EXECUTIVE OF THE YEAR – Bobby Root, account executive, The Des Moines Register. Finalists: Michelle Flood, account executive, USA TODAY; Bill Huney, account executive, USA TODAY, Detroit; and Julie Mecklenburg, account executive, WGRZ-TV at Buffalo, N.Y.

CORPORATE STAFFERS OF THE YEAR – Lane Michaelsen, vice president/news executive, Gannett Broadcasting. Finalists: Peter Lundquist, vice president/online content and product development, Gannett Digital; and Carrie Miller, senior vice president and chief financial officer, Gannett Broadcasting.

LEADERSHIP & DIVERSITY AWARD – The Reno Gazette-Journal. Finalists: The Desert Sun at Palm Springs, Calif.; WMAZ-TV at Macon, Ga.; Pacific Daily News at Hagatna, Guam; WFMY-TV at Greensboro, N.C.; and The Cincinnati Enquirer.

In addition, Gannett honored its Unsung Hero award winners. They are:

    Ronald Cobbs, manager/prepress operations, USA TODAY production, USA TODAY headquarters, McLean, Va.;
    George Colley, facilities engineer, The Greenville (S.C.) News;
    Darcy Gurganous, supervisor/corporate services, Gannett/USA TODAY headquarters, McLean, Va.;
    Adeline Hageman, human resources manager, Reno (Nev.) Gazette-Journal;
    Phillip Humes, news operations manager, WXIA-TV and WATL-TV at Atlanta;
    Nigel Waters, maintenance manager, Newsquest (Oxford);
    Alexis Ziobro, home delivery manager, The News Journal at Wilmington, Del.;

“From Innovator of the Year to Unsung Hero, we celebrate the vision, creativity and skills of these employees. As this company continues to rapidly transform itself within our changing industry, their energy, commitment and dedication inspire us to move faster, move smarter and to get the job done,” says Gannett Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Craig Dubow.

2011 Employee Awards

2010 Employee Awards

2009 Employee Awards

2008 Employee Awards

2007 Employee Awards