Press Releases

Hero image
For immediate release

Gannett Stations Receive 27 Honors from National Press Photographers Association

Five First-Place Awards include Photojournalism Award for Reporting, Documentary, Deadline Photography, In-Depth and Sports
McLEAN, VA – Gannett Co., Inc. (NYSE: GCI) today announced that three of its local Broadcasting properties – KUSA-TV in Denver, CO; KARE-TV in Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN; and WZZM-TV in Grand Rapids, MI – have received a total of 27 honors from the National Press Photographers Association (NPPA) Awards, including five first-place awards in the categories of Reporting, Documentary, Deadline, In-Depth and Sports coverage. Anne Herbst of KUSA and Jonathan Malat of KARE garnered six honors in the photography and editing categories while Corky Scholl of KUSA received five.

“We salute KUSA, KARE, WZZM and all of our honorees for showcasing the people and issues in their communities in such a captivating and memorable manner” said Dave Lougee, President of Gannett Broadcasting. “They tell stories that matter in a way that makes a difference.”

NPPA is dedicated to the advancement of photojournalism. It encourages photojournalists to reflect high standards of quality in their professional performance and in their personal code of ethics. NPPA’s annual awards and honors are determined by nominations made to a committee that’s chaired each year by the organizations’ most recent past president. Gannett’s 2012 NPPA honorees include:

KUSA-TV, Denver, CO.

    Photojournalism Award for Reporting – Chris Vanderveen (First Place)
    Judge’s Choice – Kevin Sullivan
    Ernie Crisp TV News Photographer of the Year – Anne Herbst (Runner Up)
    Documentary – Corky Scholl (First Place)
    Deadline Photography – Anne Herbst (First Place)
    In-Depth – Anne Herbst (First Place)
    General News – Anne Herbst (Second Place)
    News Feature – Corky Scholl (Honorable Mention)
    Sports – Ken Mostek (Third Place)
    Spot News – Corky Scholl (Honorable Mention)
    News Video Editing

      General News/Simple Effects – Anne Herbst (Third Place)
      News Feature – Anne Herbst (Second Place); Corky Scholl (Third Place)
      Photo Essay – Corky Scholl (Second Place)

    Large Market Station of the Year (Runner Up)

KARE-TV, Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN.

    Photojournalism Award for Reporting – Boyd Huppert (Runner Up)
    In-Depth – Jonathan Malat (Third Place)
    General News – Craig Norkus (Third Place)
    News Feature – Jonathan Malat (Honorable Mention)
    Sports – Jonathan Malat (First Place)
    48-Hour Feature – Jonathan Malat (Second Place)
    News Video Editing

      General News/Simple Effects – William Middeke (Second Place); Jonathan Malat (Honorable Mention)
      Sports – Jonathan Malat (Third Place)

WZZM-TV, Grand Rapids, MI.

    Judge’s Choice – Andrew Sugden
    News Feature – Andrew Sugden (Third Place)
    Solo Video Journalist – Jon Mills (Honorable Mention)

About Gannett
Gannett Co., Inc. (NYSE: GCI) is an international media and marketing solutions company that informs and engages more than 100 million people every month through its powerful network of broadcast, digital, mobile and publishing properties. Our portfolio of trusted brands offers marketers unmatched local-to-national reach and customizable, innovative marketing solutions across any platform. Gannett is committed to connecting people – and the companies who want to reach them – with their interests and communities. For more information, visit

For media inquiries, contact:
Laura Dalton
Director, Corporate Communications

For investor inquiries, contact:
Jeffrey Heinz
Director, Investor Relations