Press Releases

Hero image
For immediate release

Manager of the Year Finalists Announced

ARLINGTON, Va. — The finalists for Gannett’s Manager of the Year award were announced today. The winner will be named on Wednesday, Jan. 14, 1998, at a reception to be held at corporate headquarters.

Manager of the Year finalists are:

— Thomas A. Bookstaver, president and publisher of the Montgomery (Ala.) Advertiser;

— Scott M. Brown, president and publisher of The Jackson (Tenn.) Sun;

— Deborah L. Hooper, president/general manager of WFMY-TV at Greensboro, N.C.; and

— John J. Remes, president/general manager of KARE-TV at Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.

“These finalists from the Broadcast Division and Newspaper Division exemplify the impressive caliber of leadership at Gannett,” said Richard L. Clapp, senior vice president/human resources.

Judges for the contest were John J. Curley, chairman and CEO of Gannett; Douglas H. McCorkindale, president and vice chairman; and Clapp.

This is the 14th year for the Manager of the Year competition. Nominations were open to all Gannett employees.