Press Releases

Hero image
For immediate release

TEGNA’s Annual Employee Awards Recognize Top Employees, Campaigns and Unsung Heroes

McLEAN, VA – TEGNA Inc. (NYSE: TGNA) today honored company award winners and finalists during its annual Employee Awards ceremony at corporate headquarters in McLean, VA. Six Unsung Heroes were also recognized.

“Our employees are living our purpose by empowering those they serve. It is always an honor to come together and celebrate their many achievements,” said Gracia Martore, president and CEO, TEGNA. “Today’s award winners helped TEGNA reach new heights over the past year and their continued dedication and hard work is vital to our success. I congratulate all of our winners and finalists on their outstanding performance.”

Award winners and finalists were:

Manager of the Year

  • Winner: Micki Byrnes, president and general manager, WKYC, Cleveland, OH
  • Finalists: Michael Ogaz, senior director, client services, G/O Digital; Jeff Dudley, president and general manager, WMAZ, Macon, GA

Innovator of the Year

  • Winners: Kyle Clark, anchor and reporter, and Linda Kotsaftis, executive producer, KUSA, Denver, CO
  • Finalist: Greg Heidorn, manager, enterprise architecture,; Chance Horner, multi-skilled journalist, and David Schechter, senior reporter, WFAA, Dallas, TX

Sales Executive of the Year

  • Winner: Karrie Cato, account executive, WFAA, Dallas
  • Finalists: Deirdre Abels, account executive, WGRZ, Buffalo, NY; Brian Miller, senior account executive, national sales,

Corporate Staffer of the Year

  • Winner: Ellen Crooke, vice president, news, TEGNA Media
  • Finalists: Pam Lucas, director, corporate services, TEGNA; Kevin Polchow, vice president, taxes, TEGNA

Best Client Solution

  • Winner: WMAZ, Macon, GA
  • Finalists:; G/O Digital; WFAA, Dallas, TX

Diversity Award Individual

  • Winners: Margaret Bernstein, director, advocacy and community initiatives, and Micki Byrnes, president and general manager, WKYC, Cleveland, OH
  • Finalists: Bill Brown, director, media technology, WHAS, Louisville, KY; Keith Esparros, news director, WWL, New Orleans, LA

Diversity Award Unit

  • Winner: G/O Digital
  • Finalists: WCNC, Charlotte, NC; WZZM, Grand Rapids, MI

Content Award Winners

  • Breaking News/Big Story: WFAA, Dallas, TX
  • Advocacy: KARE, Minneapolis, MN
  • Best Dayturn by Multi-Skilled Journalist: Dylan Wohlenhaus, KARE, Minneapolis, MN
  • Investigative Content: “The Triangle” team, WXIA, Atlanta, GA
  • Innovative Newscast: KXTV, Sacramento, CA

Community Empowerment Award Individual

  • Winner: Eric Perkins, sports anchor/reporter, KARE, Minneapolis, MN
  • Finalists: Jane McCarthy, anchor and multi-skilled journalist, KREM/KSKN, Spokane, WA; Jeannie Blaylock, anchor, WTLV/WJXX, Jacksonville, FL

Community Empowerment Award Unit

  • Winner: WZZM, Grand Rapids, MI
  • Finalists: KHTV, Little Rock, AR; WWL, New Orleans, LA;

Unsung Heroes:

  • Michael Abernethy, director, creative services, TEGNA
  • Greg Brauer, production manager, WVEC, Norfolk, VA
  • Darcy Gurganous, manager, conference services, TEGNA
  • Kecia Harley, administrative and programming specialist, WLTX, Columbia, SC
  • Eddy Hernandez, maintenance engineer, TEGNA
  • Drea Joubert, email marketing specialist, G/O Digital
  • Bill Librizzi, art director, TEGNA

TEGNA Inc. (NYSE: TGNA) is comprised of a dynamic portfolio of media and digital businesses that provide content that matters and brands that deliver. TEGNA offers highly relevant, useful and smart content, when and how people need it, to make the best decisions possible. TEGNA Media includes 46 television stations and is the largest independent station group of major network affiliates in the top 25 markets, reaching approximately one-third of all television households nationwide. TEGNA Digital is comprised of, the leading online destination for automotive consumers, CareerBuilder, a global leader in human capital solutions, and G/O Digital, a customized local digital marketing company. For more information, visit

For media inquiries, contact:
Steve Kidera
Manager, Corporate Communications

For investor inquiries, contact:
Jeffrey Heinz
Vice President, Investor Relations