Press Releases

Hero image
For immediate release

President’s Rings Awarded by Gannett’s U.S. Community Publishing

McLEAN, VA – Bob Dickey, president of Gannett U.S. Community Publishing, today announced the recipients of USCP President’s Rings for outstanding performance during 2009. President’s Rings are the division’s top honor.

“This award recognizes outstanding work, exceptional performance and strong leadership. With all of the challenges we experienced last year, these honorees stand out for helping the company move forward. They are all stellar performers who are dedicated to giving their very best and inspiring others to do the same,” said Dickey. “I give them my deepest thanks. Congratulations to all!”
President’s Rings have been awarded to the following 35 top performers. The top ten publishers, including the top three, will be announced tomorrow, May 6.

Top three winners:
* Randi Austin, vice president/human resources and group human resources director, Louisville, KY (nine-time winner)
* Karen Crotchfelt, senior vice president/advertising and strategic planning, Phoenix, AZ (six-time winner)
* Rick Green, executive editor, Palm Springs, CA (first-time winner)
* Melissa Alford, regional human resources director, Lansing, MI (10-time winner)
* Chris Apel, vice president/finance and operations, Louisville, KY (two-time winner)
* Bill Bolger, vice president/operations and IT & Group Production director, Indianapolis, IN (eight-time winner)
* Greg Bosetski, advertising director, Sheboygan, WI (two-time winner);
* Tom Callinan, vice president/content and audience development, Cincinnati , OH(11-time winner)
* Carol Hahn, vice president/advertising, Cincinnati, OH (two-time winner)
* Kevin Hall, vice president/advertising, Des Moines, IA (two-time winner)
* Julie Harvey, West Group controller and vice president/finance, Des Moines, IA (four-time winner)
* Mike Huot, vice president/circulation and group circulation director, Louisville, KY (13-time winner)
* Bennie Ivory, executive editor and vice president/news, Louisville, KY (11-time winner)
* Scott Johnson, regional advertising director, Green Bay, WI (first-time winner)
* Mike Kane, group director and vice president/circulation, Wilmington, DE (five-time winner, receives Chairman’s Ring)
* Maricarrol Kueter, executive editor, Sioux Falls, SD (first-time winner)
* Scott LaFuria, controller, Tallahassee, FL (four-time winner)
* David Ledford, vice president/news and executive editor, Wilmington, DE (five-time winner, receives Chairman’s Ring)
* Don Lemire, vice president/finance and group controller, Wilmington, DE (seven-time winner)
* Randy Lovely, vice president/news and editor, Phoenix, AZ (three-time winner)
* Stacey Martin, South Group director and vice president/operations, Nashville, TN (two-time winner)
* Wayne Peragallo, group director and vice president/IT, Asbury Park, NJ (eight-time winner)
* Patrick Peregrin, vice president/advertising, Indianapolis, IN (three-time winner)
* Mike Quinn, senior vice president/operations and circulation, Detroit, MI (first-time winner)
* Jack Roth, vice president/production, Asbury Park, NJ (three-time winner)
* Dennis Ryerson, vice president/news, Indianapolis, IN (four-time winner)
* Susan Schwartzkopf, vice president/market development and new media, Greenville, SC (three-time winner)
* Michael Shearer, executive editor, Newark, OH (first-time winner)
* Tony Simmons, vice president/operations, Westchester, NY (three-time winner)
* Rebecca Steckler, senior vice president/advertising, Detroit, MI (first-time winner)
* Randy Sutherland, controller, Poughkeepsie, NY (nine-time winner)
* Hollis Towns, executive editor and vice president/news, Asbury Park, NJ (first-time winner)
* Carolyn Washburn, vice president and editor, Des Moines, IA (five-time winner, receives Chairman’s Ring).
* Chris Wood, advertising director, Brevard, FL (two-time winner)
* Mary Young, advertising director, Muncie, IN (first-time winner)

Judges for the President’s Ring contest were Gannett Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Craig Dubow; Gracia Martore, president, chief operating officer and chief financial officer; Dickey; Evan Ray, senior vice president of finance and operations, U.S. Community Publishing; Michelle Krans, senior vice president/strategy and development, U.S. Community Publishing; Kate Marymont, vice president/news, U.S. Community Publishing; Roxanne Horning, senior vice president of Human Resources; and Mark Morneau, vice president/Information Technology.

Gannett Co., Inc. (NYSE: GCI) is an international news and information company operating on multiple platforms including the Internet, mobile, newspapers, magazines and TV stations. Gannett is an Internet leader with hundreds of newspaper and TV web sites;, the nation’s top employment site;; and more than 80 local sites. Gannett publishes 82 daily U.S. newspapers, including USA TODAY, the nation’s largest-selling daily newspaper, and more than 650 magazines and other non-dailies including USA WEEKEND. Gannett also operates 23 television stations in 19 U.S. markets. Gannett subsidiary Newsquest is the United Kingdom’s second largest regional newspaper company with 17 daily paid-for titles, more than 200 weekly newspapers, magazines and trade publications, and a network of web sites.

For media inquiries, contact:
Robin Pence
Vice President of Corporate Communications
(703) 854-6049

For investor inquiries, contact:
Jeffrey Heinz
Director, Investor Relations
(703) 854-6917